UPDATE: Avery! Your so strong!

Avery 2.5 weeks old 8.3.11

So here is the update that you have all been patiently waiting,asking,emailing,calling,texting,asking,waiting for. =P

After Avery’s surgery he had fluid start to fill up in his belly due to the breathing tube puncturing the stomach lining. When this happened they had to put a vacuum device in through his mouth into his tummy to get it all out. In the mean time Jenn wasn’t able to do the oral therapy so it was kinda like taking a few steps back. This went on for a few days. They were filling up vile after vile with the fluid. He finally normalized and they began feedings again. Now remember, Avery still hasn’t developed a sucking reflex. He is being fed by a tube that goes through the nose/mouth into his belly. He has been successfully eating  up to 45ml’s with no residuals! They say at the rate he’s going he will be caught up (taking in 2 ounces) by next week. Jennifer also got a good look at his recent cat scan and it showed tremendous development of his brain tissue. Still no straight answers on how developed but if brain tissue is expanding that means good things are happening up there in that squishy little head of his. Jenn and Omy are going to start taking discharging classes along with CPR and some other basic “bringing home baby” classes. They say Avery can come home as soon as 3 weeks!

Tomorrow is a big day for the little guy. They will be removing his stitches from both surgeries and also his pik IV. All he will have left is his feeding tube. Before they discharge him the want him to get his sucking reflex in full action. His new therapy is pretty much genius! They take a pacifying machine that pulses in his mouth while he is being feed. This way, he can register that the oral stimulation = Food.

I am still in awe of the marvelous work that the Lord has done in this little guy. I still think back to that day where the doctors said he wouldn’t live and here he is! Here is his lil’ 2.5week timeline followed up by some amazing dreams that two of my best friends have had about Avery’s healing.

First up is Alexia’s dream!

My dream about Avery – July 2011

The dream started off with Jenny opening her apartment door to let Christina and I
come in. We were there to spend time with Jenny and check in on Avery. Avery
looked about the age he is now, but he was at home in the “Clear Case” instead of the
hospital. Jenny wanted to start cooking dinner so she asked me to hold on to the end
of Avery’s tube (the tube from his side that was letting all the fluid leak out). While
Jenny and Christina were talking away and cooking, I remember just looking at
Avery and he opened his eyes and just stared so deep into mine. Then, I notice the
fluid from the tube was pouring so fast like pouring out a full water bottle, instead of
just dripping out. I began to freak out because I remember Christina telling me (in
real life, not the dream) that if Avery’s fluid comes out too fast, his skull could
collapse. But, I was too nervous and afraid to tell Jenny or Christina. So I just
pinched the end of the tube with my fingers to stop the fluid from coming out. Then
Jenny’s phone rang and she talked on the phone for a bit. After she hung up she told
me that Avery’s doctor just called and said it’s time for the fluid to start coming out
really fast and that it is ok. So I released my fingers from the tube and the fluid
poured, and poured, and poured out so fast. Then all of a sudden, as the fluid was
pouring out, Avery started moving his arms around trying to pick up the toy that
was lying next to his side. He turned his whole body to the side and picked up the
toy and started playing with it. He played with it with his hands and also chewed on
it with his mouth. Then immediately the scene changed. Avery was around the age
of 1 and he had gotten into the food that Jenny was cooking. Jenny was laughing at
him because he had food all over his face and his clothes. She helped him walk over
to the bathroom to wash his hands. (He was not able to walk fully by himself, but it
seemed like he was learning to walk). I then shouted and said to Jenny, “Look at
Avery! He is playing with his toys and walking around! He is fine! He is perfect!”
Jenny then laughed as she was washing his face off and said, “I know! Isn’t it
amazing!” And then I woke up.

….and here’s Heather’s =)

Avery was being released from the hospital, and was around 9 months old. You facetimed me so I could see how good he was doing. He was sitting up all on his own and clapping his hands and laughing as you feed him baby food. He looked completely well, he was chubby with HUGE brown eyes, and everything about his face looked normal. You started to cry, and I asked you what was wrong, you said look at his feet look at his feet, and pointed the phone down and showed me his feet. They were sorta twisted. I was like praise God, that is all that he has left to overcome! He was a whole mind, his brain is whole, he is normal, he is whole! He can already crawl and he will walk too! (and I saw him walking on his feet in my mind) then I woke up!

Just thought I would share, feel free to leave a comment on what you may think the Lord is speaking through these dreams. The dreams pretty much speak for them selves but just encase you have any incite feel free to say so!

Leave a comment